Why I’m a Christian: Allison

by Max Andrews

Sometimes I think about how crazy it is that I believe in God. I mean really! Why do I believe in someone who claims to be an All-Powerful, Knowing, Loving, Creator of all, and Great in spite of all the unanswered questions in life and bad things that happen?  Why do I continue to cling so tightly to a particular way of life and faith that is most of the time so hard.  HAVING FAITH IN GOD IS HARD.  I have thought to myself,  “Man, it would probably be so much easier NOT to believe in God, not to hold on to these values that seem so difficult and impossible sometimes.  Plus, some people ‘without’ God seem to be doing alright”.

But that is a lie. And I honestly would never trade my faith in Jesus Christ for anything.  I don’t want to live one day without trust, hope and faith in Him.

My faith is my own.  It is very personal to me.  I believe some things others may not.  I believe things in the Bible not everyone does.  And I believe God is alive supernaturally in my heart, in my soul, and in life and creation itself.

God is not dead.  He is not non-existent.  He has miraculously and supernaturally made himself very real to ME in ways that I could never doubt His existence.

So back to the question of the craziness of why I believe in God.

Why am I a Christian?

It is a choice.  I choose to believe every word of the Bible and in God every minute of my life because without hope in something, without hope in Him, I have no real reason to live.  And I need a good reason to be alive today considering all the challenges, pains, and questions I have to deal with.

I choose to completely cling to the promises and facts of who the Bible says God is, what He does, and what He will do.  I don’t know all the answers and there are still so many things I question.  It has been a spiritually maturing process for me throughout the years to everyday choose God first when it would be so much easier to mope around, curse the world, do something crazy, or give up.

I grew up in a Christian home, have gone to church my whole life, and asked the Lord to come and save my life at a young age.  While I haven’t lived a particularly “hard” life or made too foolish of decisions, I have certainly had my share of problems and learned from experiences.  While others choose to not care about spiritual matters or give up and lose hope in life, I have learned to choose for myself to put 100% of my life and faith in a God I cannot see, touch, or hear.  I live with hope of a coming Day when I will truly meet Him face to face and spend eternity in the glory of Heaven with Him.

Being a Christian is my choice.  Choosing to follow God and obey His commands everyday is my choice.  And I yet have had a reason to regret it.  As a Christ-follower I have experienced more peace in difficulties, morelove when I’m alone, more joy when everything goes wrong, more beauty in creation, more fulfillment as a human being, and more hope for a brighter future than I ever have in my life.

I know, I’m crazy.

Romans 15:13 “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit”.

*For more on how to share your story please visit Tell Us Why You’re a Christian.

2 Comments to “Why I’m a Christian: Allison”

  1. Reblogged this on allisonjbraun and commented:
    My friend asked me if I would be willing to answer the question “Why I’m a Christian” for a series he’s doing. In short, here is my answer.

  2. Thanks! Your story really moved me. ” I choose to believe every word of the Bible and in God every minute of my life because without hope in something, without hope in Him, I have no real reason to live. And I need a good reason to be alive today considering all the challenges, pains, and questions I have to deal with.” Sister Allison, if you’re crazy, so am I!

Leave a Reply

