Why I’m a Christian: James

by Max Andrews

I have written elsewhere of my long, difficult spiritual journey. I was a disobedient, rebellious person even after I started becoming convinced of the Truth. I have wandered down many dark paths, seeking for answers but often refusing them when they were right before my eyes. But now I thank my Lord and Savior that he is long-suffering and merciful and kept goading me until I admitted defeat and surrendered to Him.

During this long journey, I looked for wisdom in many places. I have read the Bhagavad Gita and the Upanishads, Buddhist sutras and the Book of Mormon, the teachings of the Baha’i and pagan/occult works. It wasn’t until after my mother died in 1976 that someone led me to the Bible- and I could tell immediately that this book was different. I had found the explanation for why I- and the whole world- was such a mess. More importantly, I had discovered the One who had the solution. It would be many years before I would really have the desire to live by the precepts taught in the Bible, but thereafter that Book and its Author would never let go of me.

Others have written better than I ever could of the reliability of the Bible- the accuracy of its historical statements, its validation by many fulfilled prophecies, the unity of this book written over 1,500 years by so many inspired human authors. All these are wonderful and amazing, yet to me the greatest proof that the Bible is the Word of the Living God is how it took hold of me, molding me- sometimes almost against my will- into a new person. My desires and goals were changing. Rather than always seeking what would bring me instant gratification, I found myself wanting to please the One whom I now serve. I know that this is because His Holy Spirit dwells within me, leading me and changing me into someone I had no desire (and no ability) of my own to become. I now long for the day of our Lord’s return, when I shall finally be who he created me to be, and I shall kneel before Him in gratitude.

SOLI DEO GLORIA

*For more on how to share your story please visit Tell Us Why You’re a Christian.

Leave a Reply

